Shooting miniatures

For example, I need to shoot a scene, where a war ship is drowning.

I have a miniature 1:10

How should I shoot it to look realistic?

The scaling factor for overcranking your camera for miniatures is as follows

model speed = normal speed (24 for film USA) x square root of 1 over the model to life size ratio.

example 1:10 model

24x square root 1/.1= 24xsquare root 10= 24x3.18= 76fps

The water in your shot will be a little harder to deal with as waves don't scale well. I have heard of using wetting agents to reduce surface tension though I have no personal experience if this helps.

When dealing with natural elements, smoke, fire, water, don?t really hold up when employing them in miniature environment that is less then 6th scale. A friend of mine while working on the titanic miniatures said that this was the case and they stuck to it.

High speed will help, are you shooting film or video?

Video.

The scaling factor for overcranking your camera for miniatures is as follows

model speed = normal speed (24 for film USA) x square root of 1 over the model to life size ratio.

example 1:10 model

24x square root 1/.1= 24xsquare root 10= 24x3.18= 76fps

The water in your shot will be a little harder to deal with as waves don't scale well. I have heard of using wetting agents to reduce surface tension though I have no personal experience if this helps.

Thank for the formula! I`ll try to deal with water somehow...

• Premium Member

"Titanic" used very large miniatures plus a full-scale set -- there wasn't much use of a CGI Titanic actually.

But for the most part, the water hitting the sides of the ship was digitally created (CGI), combined with real ocean plates. Only the super large miniature sections, like the stern sinking, used a water tank.