available fluorescent light

Hi,

I'm a film student, directing. I'm about to start preproduction on a medium feature that I wrote and I'm investigating possibilities of shooting at night, interior with available fluorescent light (different color temperatures). This might sound extreme, but there are no money for renting lights, except some small ones for few close-ups and the building where we are shooting is HUGE. Which stock do you reccomend for this? Would 35mm ETERNA500 be a good choice? What would be other options? Any tip or advice will be highly apreciated. The budget is... loooow.

Thank you

Florin :huh:

Hi,

I'm a film student, directing. I'm about to start preproduction on a medium feature that I wrote and I'm investigating possibilities of shooting at night, interior with available fluorescent light (different color temperatures). This might sound extreme, but there are no money for renting lights, except some small ones for few close-ups and the building where we are shooting is HUGE. Which stock do you reccomend for this? Would 35mm ETERNA500 be a good choice? What would be other options? Any tip or advice will be highly apreciated. The budget is... loooow.

Thank you

Florin :huh:

You probably can't go wrong shooting with 500T, but why bother shooting 35mm if you can't afford to light it properly? If your budget is that tight, it would seem better to shoot Super 16 and reinvest a little bit of the money saved to at least get a basic kit.

Otherwise, the question is how varied are the color temps of the flos and do you want to keep that in or remove it in post? If you want the color "as is", then shoot your grayscale in normal tungsten light (somewhere else) and then film under the flos. But if you want it out, then try to find a place that has the "average" color temperature for the lights and film your grayscale there, so that the colorist can remove the green/cyan cast you're likely to encounter.