Shooting with pyro FX

Michael Collier

No, this isn't another Niki Mundo post. I don't want to use real bullets, or anything like that.

This weekend I have a shoot thats sort of the culmination of the short I have been working on for almost two months now (weekends only, and some weekends were skipped, so don't get on my case about a 2 month short!)

Saturday is a big day, and it will involve almost all of our pyro effects. We do have a pyro technition working with proffesional stage explosives. Not sure the propper term for them, but I have been calling them explosives just to remind myself that though they are small, they are still dangerous. I have been advised by the tech about distance to stunt actors and cameras, so thats squared away. ear and eye protection is ready.

My question is if you have pyro in a low budget short, where you don't have much time to reset if the first take doesn't go quite right, how do you handle it? In one shot I desperatley want to put the camera on a high hat on a dolly, and do a contra-move to the action, so the pyro wall sort of wraps around the actor. My concern is that even with lots of dry runs, there might be a problem with the move. We have extra walls painted and easily switched, but the pyro guy would need another 20-30 minutes to re-rig the wall. For saftey he says its disallowed to rig walls with pyro the day before or even early, which makes sense to me. I really don't want to call for another take if I can avoid it, but I don't want to limit my camera choices. How do you guys ballance those competeing concerns in a big shot like this? We have two cameras for every pyro shot to roll.

The only tool I have thought of on my own was to place the wall hit pattern on the wall with white stickers, and had the art dept. measure those to place corresponding x's on the back wall so when the pyro guy rigs his hits, I will know roughly where they will be on camera.