Exposing big fires.

Adam Frisch FSF

• Premium Member

Hi, guys.

I'm doing a music video with some big fires in them - one is a car burning, for instance, the rest is gasoline bombs and fuel drums burning. I have some experience with exposing for fire, but not very much, so I need your help.

I'm basically aiming for a T4 on 200 speed film or a T5.6 on 500 speed to get those bright yellow/red fireballs. Would you agree this was in the ballpark in your experience, or should I go even further? Suggestions welcome on this subject.

I also was wondering - would a Polarizer do anything to fire? Can't remember hearing or reading about it, so probably not...

fire always looks best IMO detailed at f8, which I believe Mikael Salamon went for on Backdraft or else it always ends up with too much overexposed white. John Pardue a commercials DP discussed this on the article written about his work on The Bunker.

I like to see the smoke and all the detail like this against sillouhettes with COLOUR (talking red and orange):

fire.jpg

as oppose to this with the actors exposed but the flames virtually white and neon yellow (the flames on this have been shot at wider fstop and photoshopped in to the flash photogrpahy):

dlx-aged.jpg

The ending to Beverly Hills Cop 2 lit by Kimball always irks me, because there is a shot of an exploding and burning car that must be shot at f2.8-4 and while it's shallow focus, all the flames are just unnaturally yellow with a huge white burn out in the middle that makes it look as though it's clipped SVHS. Blugh...

Edited by fstop

• Premium Member

To add to F-stop's post you may find this excerpt from the January 2003 AC interesting:

"Ballhaus filmed most of ["Gangs of New York"] night scenes on Kodak Vision 500T 5279, but for one significant night scene, in which Vallon saves the life of another young Irishman (Henry Thomas) during a house fire, the cinematographer used a method that he and his gaffer, Jim Tynes, had read about in AC.: