Noob - Soft bedroom Scene on a small budget

Guest jeff

Hi All!

I'm a total lighting noob on a tight budget (worst case scenario.... LOL)

Im going to be shooting a scene in a bedroom (most likely in a house w/ 8 foot white popcorn ceilings) for a commercial. White walls but can be painted an earthtone. Standard tan carpet. Windows will most likely be kept black and cutained until I have more skills.

I would like to make the shoot kind of soft looking and move the camera in a slow sweep (about 5 feet)

Camera will be a Panasonic DVX 100A... editing in Premier Pro 1.5.

Any suggestions on what kind of Home Depot lights I should buy?

I was thinking of Par flood & spot halogens (like for track lighting)? is the "K" to far off for these lights?

Should I buy 500W work-lights also (or instead of the above lights)?

How about softboxes - how big and where to place them - 216 or 250?

If at all possible... A rough diagram placement of the lights & boxes would be a huge help. If not, a description of placement would be great too.

Thanks so much for the advice... I looked around in this forum section and found no specifics that applied to this scene.

Jeff

• Premium Member

I'm sorry may be I don't understand you so well... (may be due to the fact I'm french) but...

How comes you were hired for a shoot that doesn't seem to be so complicated and present yourself as a DOP and need us to tell you how to light this shoot ???

The list of different possible sources you're giving are able to give you so different results that it sounds like you have no idea at all of how to choose them, meaning you don't have much idea of what you want the light to look like either...