The Decade in Cinematography

David Mullen ASC

• Premium Member

I guess it will soon be time to discuss the best of 2009, but also to recap the decade starting with 2000. I just looked through my lists of what I saw in each year (a handy guide, I suggest everyone keep such a list...)

First of all, I wanted to discuss the issue of getting older and feeling nostalgic. I graduated high school in 1980, so the 70's were my childhood movies, the 80's were my college years discovering art cinema, and the 90's were the start of my professional years shooting. So I've always been partial to the cinematography of my youth, the 1970's-80's. This was the era in which discovered my heros, mentors, and role models -- and many of the famous DP's of the 1980's are still top DP's today.

So given my particular history... when I looked at my lists, I jotted down any movie I thought stood out that year, particularly ones that I watched multiple times just to understand how they were shot. Of course, to some degree as you get older and more experienced, you don't have to watch the same movie 20 times as I did in my youth (literally... I saw movies like "Raiders", "Star Wars", "Close Encounters", "E.T.", etc. over ten-times in movie theaters in the year of their release. Of course, hit movies hung around in theaters for several months back then.)

I also tried to decipher any stylistic patterns to emerge in the past ten years versus the 90's era.

The first thing I noticed was that 1999, the year BEFORE the period I am discussing (2000-2009), was a banner year for cinematography, movies that I've studied many times since they were released: "Snow Falling on Cedar", "Sleepy Hollow", "The Insider", "Fight Club", "Bringing Out the Dead", "American Beauty", "The Matrix", "Eyes Wide Shut" -- what a great year for cinematography! In some ways, it was also, for me personally, the last great year of inspirational work, movies that looked the way I wished my movies looked.