Recommended Light Meters

Guest Daniel J. Ashley-Smith

Guest Daniel J. Ashley-Smith

So far I have saved £200 and I'm looking around for a real pro light meter. (Not that I'm a pro, but what the hell, I've got to spend this money on SOMETHING film related)

I know the real descent light meters go up to like 500, but I am willing to save, IF it's worth it.

What light meters do you guys use? Personally I need something that can do both cine and video, although I don't won?t all those extra features that only cost more, i.e. flash meters e.t.c.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Dan.

• Premium Member
So far I have saved £200 and I'm looking around for a real pro light meter. (Not that I'm a pro, but what the hell, I've got to spend this money on SOMETHING film related)

I know the real descent light meters go up to like 500, but I am willing to save, IF it's worth it.

What light meters do you guys use? Personally I need something that can do both cine and video, although I don't won?t all those extra features that only cost more, i.e. flash meters e.t.c.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Dan.

Spectra IVA incident

Minolta Spotmeter F spot.

Both are rugged and reliable. If you're just starting, it might be worth looking into a single combined unit to save a bit of money, but I personally like having the incident and spot meters separate...perhaps just out of habit.

J

• Premium Member

I have been using my trusty Minolta Flash Meter IV for many years. I had a Pentax spot Meter V, but now I've got the Pentax Digital Spotmeter. I don't really use it that much.

Good meters, in no particular order. Some are Cine only, most are primarily Stills, but can do cine/video. Prices in $USD @ B&H Photo:

Konica Minolta Auto Meter VF $219.95 Stills and cine, flash

Spectra Pro IV-A $372 .95 Cine only, no flash

Gossen Digipro F $243.95 Stills and cine/video. Flash

Luna Pro Digital $210.00 Stills and cine/video. Flash

Konica Minolta Flash Meter 6 $429.95 Stills and cine, flash