Extreme Low light Conditions 16mm

Im shooting a scene where my lights are going to be a zippo lighter(held by the character, some candles in the background and a lantern on the side.

The scene will be lifted by a bounced small sourced HMI from the window.

I will be shooting on 16mm 500T Vision 3 stock.

Any Does n Don'ts?

It's my first time lighting for 16mm under these lighting conditions.

Thank you,

Regards,

Im shooting a scene where my lights are going to be a zippo lighter

I am guessing the zippo is your "key"? If so, it may not be enough, depending on how fast your lens is. You may want to augment the zippo with a lamp on a flicker box. Since the actor is holding it they may be moving, so you can always handhold a low wattage bulb and move with them. I am sure you are using the hmi as moonlight cause of the color difference? I like to overexpose by at least half a stop, depending on the mood you are going for, this may give you more detail in your shadows etc.

Nick

• Premium Member

Use a little halogen bulb for the flame. In the old days, we used the FEV's (200 Watt) from inkies. The flicker box is just an ordinary triac dimmer with a push button switch in parallel. Any good hardware store will have the parts. One hand runs the dimmer up and down a little, with the other you tap the shunt switch to make flickers of full brightness.

-- J.S.

The coolest and so most natural looking lighting and augmenting a candle was shown in the American Cinematographer in issue December 2010. On Shutter Island Bob Richardson´s gaffer is holding a gas powered round pipe with a couple of holes burning about 1.5 ft. away from DiCaprio who is igniting a match to enhance the flame. On film this looks amazingly good.

Im shooting a scene where my lights are going to be a zippo lighter(held by the character, some candles in the background and a lantern on the side.

The scene will be lifted by a bounced small sourced HMI from the window.