Create a full reflection over glasses?

The end result I need to create:

http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/ScaryShinyGlasses

The glared out glasses you see in a lot of animes.

I am running lighting for a film shoot and the director wants a pretty dramatic interview scene. The interviewer's face is not going to be revealed until the end of the film and until then, his glasses will be completely covered in white reflection.

Any suggestions on how to achieve this? I cant just point big lights at him, you will most likely be able to see the edge of the lights.

Thanks!

Jeremy

I'm not really sure if my approach could be working because I have little to no experience with green screen, but if you had those lenses replaced/covered green, you will probably avoid a lot of fuddling with huge fills that need to be white in a less than 100% reflection but still shed no light to the face underneath. (Otherwise you would be limited to always have the same light/direction/intensity). Would be curious to know what others say to the green aproach...

Saluti,

Phil

Edited by Phil Soheili

You could have your talents glasses modified so they actually shine an LED's light powered by a flat cell through a diffusion behind the lenses. And the cell could be in the talents hair behind his ears or elsewhere.

The rig could be slightly uncomfortable to wear, but ...

Phil

Edited by Phil Soheili

• Premium Member

What David said is the best approach. Depending on where you have your talent facing, just form a proper angle between the camera, their eyeline and the soft material.