Robbs

I wanted to know if I should invest in a lighter meter with a 1 degree spot meter or will a 5 degree spot meter do just fine? I'm planning to purchase the Sekonic L-478DR or the L-758cine depending on what feed back I get through this community. I'm new to this field of work and currently a student so I want something for long term and I don't want to be in a situation where I need to purchase a 1% spot meter. Thanks.

For me there was no question, 1 deg.

At approx 20, a 1 deg. spot will measure a 4 inch disk, roughly the area of an adult human. At 5 deg. same distance, the disk will be about 20 inchs, and so would include hair, which if contrasting the face complexion, would yield potentially a wrong reading. At at distance where a 5 deg. coves the face... it would be just as easy to walk up to the subject with either a wider (and cheaper) reflectance meter, or even an incident meter.

Of course there will be some distance where a 1 deg. yields wrong results.. but it's further out... and even in 'nature/scenics' one can get reasonably good readings with the 1 deg. for 'large' objects...

• Premium Member

I own several light - meters that I have gotten through the years.

One of the old Sekonic ones (5º), the Minolta Spotmeter F (1º), the Minolta Autometer IV and the Spectra IV - A.

I only use the Spotmeter F and the Spectra IV - A.

My opinion is that between the two lightmeters that you are considering on buying, I would choose the L758 as you have all the lightmeters in one and it will be cheaper than buying the L478 and then the spot meter attachment or a different spot meter.

You will have everything in one device and you will have to take care of one piece of equipment as opposed as two so less hassle and less chances of leaving it on location.

The L758 has a 1º spot meter rather than the old 5º one which is very convenient.