Best Super 8 Camera for Monster Movies

Jared P. Foust

Hello, all!

I am an Atlanta-based filmmaker specializing in practical miniature effects and giant monster movies in the style of classic Godzilla films and Ultraman television series. My reel is here:

https://vimeo.com/120988634

So I've recently gotten really into the idea of shooting films on Super 8 after seeing how lovely it can look when done with great care and it's appealing to me to shoot on a physical format when I am so fiercely practical about all my other approaches to fantasy filmmaking as well. I like to avoid CGI at all costs when I can help it. Plus, I've found that miniatures just tend to look more natural on film than on digital video. The trouble I'm having is figuring out just what camera I should start with. I'd very much like the following things in a camera:

• The ability to shoot at high frame rates – at least 54fps (technically my scale calls for 120fps but ~60fps usually gets the job done just fine because I'm rarely aiming for complete realism anyway)
  • The ability to focus on very close objects and capture a fairly deep depth of field. There were some cameras I thought might be good until I found out their minimum focusing distance was, like, 3-5 feet. I often need to be able to have the camera focus inches away from my miniatures.
  • The ability to shoot with a super wide or ultra wide angle lens. Partly for style reasons but also to help my miniature shots feel big and expansive when the camera is up close and surrounded by the sets.
  • The latter two issues also combine into one other issue. I want to be able to get Jeunet and Gilliam-style wide angle close-ups of my actors. I like getting my camera right up in their faces instead of just popping a longer lens on or zooming in, so I need to make sure I can get that close focus.