Super 8mm & 16mm - Service and a few questions.

Benjo Arwas

Hello,

Nice meeting all of you.

I been shooting a bunch of super8mm this past year, and really enjoying the process.

Im just starting out to play with 16mm and will appreciate any answer or help. (no need in-depth or long replies)

- I just got a "new" Krasnogorsk K-3 - I was wondering where can I send it to check up/service in Los Angeles Area. Any tricks and tips about that camera?

- Where can I get a proper loop for it?

- Where is the best telecine lab you guys know in the US?

- Super8mm - where can I service my cameras? I got Canon 1014AZ that needing a service as the motor start to get weak.

Thank you in advance,

Benjo

https://vimeo.com/benjoarwas

- I just got a "new" Krasnogorsk K-3 - I was wondering where can I send it to check up/service in Los Angeles Area. Any tricks and tips about that camera?

Cover the footage counter with tape, it leaks light into the film. Tape around the camera as well for the same reason. Whenever your eye isn't pressed against the rubber eyecup, cover it. I use a black canister of the type used with 35mm still film, cut in half. The Meteor zoom takes some twisting to come out but you need it to come out if you see see dirt in your ground glass. The accumulated dirt, grease and grime can be cleaned with a Q-tip dipped in 91% rubbing alcohol. Don't put the zoom back on when you do that, wait until there's no more moisture in there. Don't trust the internal light meter unless you've checked it with an external light meter first, some of the newer replacement batteries cause a discrepancy in the readings.

I'm not sure what you mean with a proper loop, have your loop formers been removed?

E-mail Bernie O'Doherty about the Canon, but check if the motor is still weak if you replace the batteries with fresh Energizer batteries first. Dollar store batteries can't handle the camera for long.