Developing reversal as negative

My apologies if this has been covered previously on the forum, I did a bit of searching and couldn't find an answer to my question: is there any guideline regarding development of reversal stock as negative? What should I expect from developing fresh black and white reversal as far as contrast? I know using only a reversal developer and skipping the fashing and bleaching will yield very high contrast.  Specifically, I have a bunch of 7266 that I want to process as negative. I've been a still photographer for about 30 years and I'm very comfortable using standard black and white chemistry. I prefer using HC-110 which is a pretty high energy developer that was developed for newsprint, so it's pretty high contrast and predictable with dilution. 

Further down the line, if I expose reversal with the intention of using it as negative, is there a recommendation for what ISO I rate the film at?

Thanks all,

Phil Forrest 

• Premium Member

You can develop every reversal film to negative. (Eastman-) Kodak’s Plus-X reversal, Super-X reversal, Super-XX reversal, Tri-X reversal, Tri-X TV reversal, and 4X reversal on gray and blue base allow(ed) both processes. They’re actually rather negative than reversible stocks because true reversal films for projection have a colourless base and some sort of removable anti-halo protection such as a black backing or a subbing (undercoat) or dyes.

The reversing process about doubles the speed of a reversal film due to two different emulsions mixed together but exposed and developed in distinct steps. Fomapan R 100 is made as an ISO 50 material. With the aforementioned stocks you lose half to two-thirds of a stop, so 7266 can be exposed for ISO 160 in daylight.