Euro commercial color grade look:

omar robles

Hello Members:

I am a novice when it comes to color grading so I apologize if my inquiry seems dumb, but I am obssesed with finding this out.  I noticed that a lot of commercials and music videos from Spain, Mexico city and some european countries have this similar type of look which I describe as the "euro" look.  It has a very organic film like look to it.   I have spoken to a few DPS and colorists from some of those videos which I admire and they downplay their work a little.  For a while I believed they used special filtration on the lenses but one of my favorite videos the DP told me they shot it clean.  Besides the obvious answers that it is lighting,  production design what is that element that i am missing.

https://vimeo.com/371955754

https://vimeo.com/200411652

Thanks in advance

O.R

• Premium Member

I think there is a more classical, late 90’s - early 00’s narrative film aesthetic to the lighting and framing that you don’t see as much of right now in US commercials. Here, either high-key, super-slick, or rougher faux doc-style is currently more popular. 

The first commercial is really a short film. Has a gorgeous ‘color negative film’ look with film grain, controlled mixed color temps, soft low-key lighting with carefully selected practicals and blue moonlight, single-camera style. It could be 35mm, though I’m not seeing much red halation on the highlights so it could also be Alexa. Looks to be spherical, with some interesting imperfect optics (maybe Cookes?). Tasteful handheld and artful frames like shooting thru rainy windows that took some time to set up. You can tell it likely had a decent budget and shooting schedule.