Army of the Dead - a focus pulling masterclass

Just watched Army of the Dead on Netflix. How the hell did they keep it all in focus? The depth of field is razor thin the entire time, and the focus is dead on every shot. Even the fast action. Incredible. 

• Like 1

• Premium Member

Watch "Joker" for the actual masterclass. It's done mostly in camera. With movies like Army of the dead, its probably a mix of real practical work and really good VFX artists. Suffice to say, it doesn't hold a candle to the work in Joker because at least we know for fact that work was really done in camera. 

I watched it last night and I wouldn’t call the focus dead on every time by a long shot, I’m a focus puller by trade but even my friends that aren’t in film were complaining about how shallow and often out things were. Lots of questionable splits and on the fly corrections as well, something tells me Zack isn’t an easy guy to pull for.

• Premium Member
21 minutes ago, Daniel D. Teoli Jr. said:

Not knowing much about focus pulling, isn't it all mapped out ahead with focus test, lens marks, stops and notes? They can reshoot ad nauseum as well.

I mean yes, they rehearse of course. They also have tuns of focus aids these days, so most of the time they know exactly where the focus "should" be, there is no "guessing" like the days of film. Furthermore, actors don't exactly land perfectly every take. Even the best actors I've worked with, would miss their marks enough for focus to be soft on a few takes. Sometimes those takes are the best so they use them.