Are These Arri-S or Arri-B Mounts? I'm Confused!

s-l500.jpgs-l500.jpg

I'm new to looking at vintage lenses, and I'm super excited to be picking up my first set soon - but these mounts have got me stumped. I've looked up Google as much as I can, and there's just not a whole lot I can find visually on the difference between Arr-S and Arri-B mounts - I intend to get a converter to PL mount so I can mount on my KOMODO, but I want to make sure I'm getting the right converter.

From what I know, Arri-S camera mounts have a thing sticking out one side that will hold the lens in place; Arri-B mounts have a two sided twist and lock mechanism.

These above are two different listings I'm looking at, but I'm just not sure is this Arri-S or Arri-B I'm looking at (especially with that funny screw thing for the lens on the left).

Some help please?

Edited by Joel Hanson Li
Formatting was wrong.

• Premium Member

The second one could be Arri S mount, hard to tell without seeing more of it. 

Generally eBay listings will correctly identify common mounts like this, so just searching for Arri S or Arri B lenses should give you a few examples to look at, although right now there aren’t very many B mounts on there.

The defining features of S or Standard mount are a straight cylindrical rear with a groove near the end when viewed from the side, and a slot (or sometimes two opposite each other) near the outer edge when viewed from the back. Different lenses might have different optical protrusions coming out of the cylinder. Here’s a few eBay Standard mount examples:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/284894575177
https://www.ebay.com/itm/334253654718
https://www.ebay.com/itm/373458008681

Note that the last example is actually a 16mm format lens, but the seller doesn’t mention it.