Workflow for correcting issues with Super 16 Bolex footage

Adam Levine

Hi all,

Infrequent poster here. I am working with Super 16 footage I shot on a Bolex that turned out to have a number of issues - light leaks on one side of the frame, a nasty thick hair along the top of the image, and a slight but persistent registration problem. The gate on the camera was recently converted and as I used to finish on film (I make short experimental films) this is my first time actually finishing on video. After talking to a few friends, I decided to scan to 2k instead of 4k as it seems like some find the higher resolution more noisy. So, with all that background...

I am thinking my workflow should be as follows:

1.Picture lock without processing any of the footage.

2. Use Premiere's Warp Stabilizer with no motion option (footage was all shot on a tripod except for a couple of shots which I will treat separately). Also select "no crop" for stabilizer.

3. Crop the image to hide all/some of the light leak and hairs. I assume that the crop will have to be the same across the whole project so that the grain size remains consistent. Am I right about this?

4. Grade and export

Does this seem like the right way to go? I only ask about 4k above as I'm wondering if there will be less degradation/softening of the image after cropping, but if that resolution is noisier anyway, maybe not? The final presentation is for a video installation on two 60" monitors, if that makes any difference.

Thanks so much for your help and advice! Happy to post examples if that would help.

Edited by Adam Levine
Inaccurate comment

• Premium Member

I personally always scan 16mm in 4k, there just isn't any reason not to. 

With a 2k file, if you want to manipulate, you're now decreasing your resolution.