What actually is the "standard" budget? Then AND Now

Max Field

Lately I've been having difficulty pricing various budgets for clients because of this rapid inflation we've experienced in 2022, however the numbers I give still feel way lower than what was expected 20 years ago before digital had entirely taken over. Our economy has experienced inflation however our shooting market seems to have experienced digital deflation.

If you all could type me some estimates ranges for the following, what was a standard budget range for:

• Broadcast quality 1 minute commercial (in 2000 and in 2022)
  • Broadcast quality infomercial (in 2000 and in 2022)
  • Live action half hour TV pilot (in 2000 and in 2022)
  • MTV-grade music video (in 2000 and in 2022)

Different perspectives from everyone across all markets would really help me get a stronger frame of reference for what I should be estimating for clients.

Thanks as always!

• Like 1

I am not a film professional, so I don't know anything. But is this of any help?

https://beverlyboy.com/tv-commercial-production/how-much-does-it-cost-to-produce-a-commercial/

If you can do something for a price that's cheaper than you think it should be, then go with it. It might be tempting to inflate it, but just be careful of competition. 

• Premium Member
On 12/16/2022 at 2:54 AM, Max Field said:

Lately I've been having difficulty pricing various budgets for clients because of this rapid inflation we've experienced in 2022, however the numbers I give still feel way lower than what was expected 20 years ago before digital had entirely taken over. Our economy has experienced inflation however our shooting market seems to have experienced digital deflation.

If you all could type me some estimates ranges for the following, what was a standard budget range for:

• Broadcast quality 1 minute commercial (in 2000 and in 2022)
  • Broadcast quality infomercial (in 2000 and in 2022)
  • Live action half hour TV pilot (in 2000 and in 2022)