Shooting Ektachrome 100D with Nizo 561 macro

Hugo Bueno

Hello!

Please pardon me if this has been answered before (I've read quite a few posts regarding Nizos and exposure readings but not sure I have up-to-date information).

I have shot a roll of Tri-X with the Nizo to pretty good results in terms of exposure (Light Bulb setting on), but this is my first time doing Ektachrome. I'm going on a trip and very worried about ending up with poorly exposed results based on incorrect settings.

I thought it would be unnecessary to do the Light Bulb setting on (no filter) since it's a daylight balanced film, but I read in a much older post to use the sun filter regardless for the camera to accurately meter it. I would appreciate any advice on avoiding poor exposure with this combination in general. So if anyone has some footage with Nizo and Ekta, either auto exposing, or manually exposing (I plan on using manual but guiding with the camera's meter to have an idea of how to expose it). Some people say to overexpose it a bit... others to underexpose it a bit... because it's reversal.

Ultimately I plan on scanning it, more so than projecting it physically (but nice to have the option to at some point; I just really like the colors based on footage I've seen online). So if this changes the exposure question for improved results, please let me know.

Thanks in advance.

Hi there,

I've been shooting ektachrome 100d on a nizo 561 macro without the filter. I haven't considered making an adjustment to my light meter readings and up till now the footage has come out to my liking.
I think for this film I used the auto exposure to check and set it to manual aperture based on the initial reading.

Hope that helps!

I have shot Ektachrome with my Nizo on auto and set to the lightbulb (filter out of the way) and it came out great. I think it meters for either 160 or 100 which would be good.