DVX-100P Feature

Leon Rodriguez

This summer I'll shoot a very low budget DV feature with a pair of DVX-100P's. I'm a celluloid dinosaur. I usually shoot in film so I've never used this camera before and have only begun to research it. Consequently, I'm getting a bit nervous. Great Script, Cool director, I sense good performances. Anyway, I'm asking myself, "After this little picture is edited and posted, is the result even able to be blown up and scanned to a 35mm print?" Any input? Is this comparable to digi-beta or DVC Pro 50? Or is this more like an XL-1s? Has anyone ever blown-up to a 35mm print capturing on this set of 1/3" CCD camera? If so how was the grain? How did it look? Any input as to what I'm likely to encounter? What lenses and support are available? (rentable?) What tests would you recomend to get a feel for the limits of this camera? Gray Towel, test? Principle photography kicks off July 10th so I've got a bit of homework time. All input welcomed and appreciated. Thanx in advance.

Hi,

I would say the quality off the DVX-100P is closer to the XL-1s than a Digi-Beta or DVC-Pro 50 camera, but DVX-100P will out perform the XL-1s on a 35mm transfer because of the progressive scan option.

'28 Days Later' - is a good example of what an XL-1 looks like transfered to 35mm.

I would try an get hold of the PAL version of the camera, this give you a 20% increase resolution over the NTSC version, which will make a big difference on the 35 mm blow up - also the 16:9 Anamorphic lens adaptor would be well worth using.

Also the quality of a blow up is in proportion to how much money the production can spend in post. I've spoken to Ellen Kuras about her DV blow ups and she said they cost just as much as the actual production, $150,000 to $200,000.