hd100 vs HVX200 vs ???

paul pardue

Okay, so let me start off by saying that I am a film student, and I am getting a student loan for about $7,000. I am looking into a nice camera, and really would like to step into HD if I can. I had at one time been looking at the XL series from canon, but the xl h1 looks like more then I can afford. Reading this and other boards, I really like both the hd100 and the HVX200, and am having a though time deciding.

For me, the following is what I like,

HD100

Interchangeable lens

Shoot to tape

720p at 24fps

Price of camera

DVX200

1080p at 24fps (though not sure on this, rumor has it it's up converted?)

Variable frame rate

What I don't like,

HD100

Not higher then 720p

Possible split screen effect?

No special frame rates...

DVX200

Can only achieve 1080p and variable frame rates with p2 cards

Price of p2 cards

Fixed lens

Price of camera

So, here's the question, which do you think is a better camera? I have heard that if you really want to learn cinematography, having a lens with better control is the way to go. I like the concept though of shooting tapeless and having the under/overcrank ability and the higher frame size. I really won't consider a interlaced camera cause I think it looks like bad (sorry Sony). I though don't like spending 6 grand on a camera and another couple grand to make use of all of it's features (p2 cards 1500 each?)... In the other hand, I can save a bit on the camera and a lot on media with the HD100 if I give up the larger frame and the variable frame rate.

I really could do with some help here, anyone have any suggestions? Or maybe I missed something...

None of the 1/3" cameras shoot 1080p, the HVX shoots 720p like the HD 100. However, you do have an option of 1080i, which the HD 100 doesn't have.

I haven't used the HVX 200, so I can't comment on it.