Another novice needs advice! - YASHICA SOUND 50XL MACRO SUPER 8

Anthony Lee

Hi guys,

I have very little knowledge of celuloid and would love to learn more. I am a student experienced in digital video and have recently had the urge to cut film instead of "cut" film. I am looking to buy a YASHICA SOUND 50XL MACRO SUPER 8 CAMERA and would really appreciate both your opinions and advice relating to it. Info as follows.

Thanks in advanced for your time,

Anthony

Yashica 8mm - 40mm f1.2 Macro Zoom Lens

TTL Needle Metering with f Stop Display

Battery Test

Artificial/Daylight Control

EE Lock. 4, 2, 1 x 1/2

Low and High Recording Levels

Remote Socket

Microphone Socket

Monitor Socket

External 9V Power Supply Socket

Power Zoom with Wide and Tele button on the Camera and a Macro Facility on the Lens

Fire Button, Run/Run Lock on Swivel Hand Grip

Guest santo

Gee whilickers, that's close to three Yashica camera posts in a row. Odd in the extreme considering how obscure theses cameras are.

However, you can do no better with the other Japanazooms out there. You will experience no observable "improvement" with Canons or other fixed lens cameras from this era of this similar consumer level construction and philosophy.

Yashica is as good as any for farting around and enjoying some initial super 8 shooting.

Enjoy.

I wouldn't suggest this camera for 3 reasons:

1) It only has a frame rate of 18fps. Meaning, you have no option to shoot in some form of slow motion, at industry standard 24fps, or use a single frame feature to make animation.

2) This camera is not compatable with the new Kodak Ektachrome 64T reversal stock. As you stated your new to film, I assume the extent of the film stocks you will be using are Color and Black and White reversal. Therefore, I would suggest you look for a camera that can properly expose 64T.