"Soft Matte" Attachments or Etchings?

John Michael Corey

I'm a newbie and not too familiar with all the vernacular, so I apologize ahead of time if this thread seems silly. So, here goes...

I know the HVX200 shoots at 16:9, but are there any "soft matte" attachements/accessories available for the HVX200?

This seems like a simple solution for shooting at one's preferred screen ratio (I want to shoot at 2.35), and then have simple, fast computer cropping to 2.35 that even a kindergartner could do. The cropping would be at constant & exact defeined parameters.

Yes, yes, i know one can crop any footage like aforementioned, but "soft matte" footage would be much more desirable because the cameraman will have skillfully "framed" all of the footage superbly within the soft matte (2.35 box i'm hoping). I think it's asking too much of the cameraman (me) to be able to perfectly frame every piece of footage (left-to-right, top-to-bottom) with 2.35 in mind when shooting at 1.78.

Looking at getting 1.78 to 2.35 while sitting at my home computer, i see nothing but bitter compromises and agonizing disappointment in having to crop footage this way or that way, and being insanely frustrated that none of my footage can be the way in which i wanted. Especially, when if there was just some sort of soft matte attachement for the view finder so that i'd have a faint 2.35 box centered in the middle of the screen as i'm shooting so that i can frame my shots and footage accordingly. Maybe better yet, how about having a faint 2.35 box laser-etched onto my viewfinder lens?

I feel like there's got to be some simple solution to this problem. Is there?

Thanks.

• Premium Member
I feel like there's got to be some simple solution to this problem. Is there?

Thanks.

Just shoot a framing chart with the camera, and use tape to mask the onboard LCD to desired cropping.

Thanks for the reply.