Music Videos 24p 30p or what & what shutter ?

Diamond Studios

Hi all, what a great forum, I've been reading it like crazy for the last month, tonights my first post, Im a professional audio engineer for 20 years, but video not quite 2 years, I have the panasonic ag-dvx100a, after about 20 or so videos Its looking pretty good, Im striving for the best I can be, what would you all recomend for shooting music videos, 24p,30p,ect, I try to only shoot in the sun, bein that Im still learning, and figur Its my safest bet right now, what should I be using shutter wise, Im not doing fast panning, tripods, and camera dollies mostly, one last question I use vegas 6, If I do record in 24p, when Im capturing, do I capture in 24 fps film or 29.7 ? I know in 24p mode that Im recording at 23.976 so where should I be, Thank you all for any help

what would you all recomend for shooting music videos, 24p,30p,ect

You should determine what your final media will be. Are you shooting for tv? DVD? Web? Also, with the DVX there are two 24p modes; normal and advanced. In 24p normal (24pn) the frames are encoded using a 2:3:2:3 cadence. In 24p advanced (24pa) they are encoded 2:3:3:2. I don't want to rehash the details (search and you shall find lots of info) but shooting 24pn is fine if your final output will be 30/29.97 (e.g. tv). Shoot 24pa if you plan to output to film or 24p DVD. Again, lots of info regarding the two modes if you search.

what should I be using shutter wise, Im not doing fast panning, tripods, and camera dollies mostly

Depends on the look you are trying to accomplish. If you want a softer look then shoot 1/48th. A choppier action film look, then 1/250 or higher.

I use vegas 6, If I do record in 24p, when Im capturing, do I capture in 24 fps film or 29.7 ? I know in 24p mode that Im recording at 23.976 so where should I be