HVX ( or other HD camera) vs digi Beta

Vince Klinger

Hi, I am a producer/director who with times went from 35mm, to 16mm and eventually to digi Beta as the market changed. I do not know how my "crew" does it but I have delivered to many mainstream TV stations ( and of course for DVD) digi Beta masters shot on digi Beta while making them "think" its super 16 film...By lighting for film, keeping lenses longer, deinterlacing and film filtering in Avid over exposed film grain...I made and delivered like this about 10 films in the last 5 years or so.....and got away with it ;)

Now I am told that HVX ( or other such prosumer camera) even in mini DV tape mode (since I am scared of P2 cards for now), I can do the same and "upconvert" to digi Beta with (almost) the same quality. Some even say as good as digi Beta...

As I am NOT at all technician I do not understand most of what is written here, but I do understand things like: As good, will be crap, better, 80% of digi Beta, a lot better etc...

Any simple info as to which type of camera would be the closest would be much appreciated.

I would recomend the HVX you are talking about. I have some experience testing them and the P2 cards (you have nothing to fear, especially if you edit Avid.) and it would be your best bet, for SD finnish (or HD finnish considering cameras on the same level)

The HVX can record DVCPRO50 (only on P2, tape can only record DV25) and that has aproxamatley the same quality recording of digibeta (4:2:2, light cosine compression). Also since the chips are slightly higher resolution than most SD cameras even in the professional ENGs, it has a nice, sharp image and low noise. I don't know if the multiple frame rate would help you or not, but its sorta nifty.

Like I said I have been looking at these and testing these for some time, and have shot a feature on the HVR-ZU1. Both good cameras, but I would prefer the HVX on P2 over the HVR.

Guest Paul Wizikowski