Questions about aspect ratios and CCDs

Häakon

I have some questions regarding aspect ratio and I will start out by apologizing in advance if the answers should be obvious or common knowledge. I'm a young student very interested in film and I am not a major industry player or "pro" like some of the other people who post on these forums.

I am getting more and more into shooting motion picture, and sometimes discussion over aspect ratio really confuses me. After seeing Canon's recent announcement of "true 16x9" CCDs on the new XL2, there have been a lot of comparisons to other cameras (most obviously and notably the AG-DVX100) about "effective pixel count" and "true 16x9" that have left me a bit in the dark.