Exterior lighting for forests

Hugh Thomson

I'm a student shooting in a rotting pine forest (no leaves/no dappled sunlight). I'm having trouble thinking of ways to make it more visually interesting.

I'm shooting on Super 16 with an ASA of 200T, which goes down to 125 ASA with the daylight filter. On sunny days the bright spots read at about F-stop 11-22 and about 4-5.6 in the shade. Lots of trees casting lots of shadows that make the contrast ratio a pain in the butt. On cloudy days about 2.8 everywhere. No lights, just a bunch of silver reflectors and boards of polystyrene on C-stands.

I've decided to shoot at 70mm-90mm for most of it at 4.0 or 5.6 to make the actors stand out from the blurry background. I'm hoping to shoot must of it with the sun coming from behind the actors to give them a rim light, reflecting light on their faces, making the backlight about 2 stops hotter. If it's cloudy I guess I'd go for a Miller's Crossing kind of look.

Any tips on how to make this more interesting?

And what to do for wide shots with too much contrast between bright/dark? It's being telecined, put on mini-DV and edited on a computer. I suppose that lowers the acceptable contrast range to about 6 stops, so should I expose somewhere between and let the grader worry about it?

(apologies for the long post)

I'm a student shooting in a rotting pine forest (no leaves/no dappled sunlight). I'm having trouble thinking of ways to make it more visually interesting.

I'm shooting on Super 16 with an ASA of 200T, which goes down to 125 ASA with the daylight filter. On sunny days the bright spots read at about F-stop 11-22 and about 4-5.6 in the shade. Lots of trees casting lots of shadows that make the contrast ratio a pain in the butt. On cloudy days about 2.8 everywhere. No lights, just a bunch of silver reflectors and boards of polystyrene on C-stands.