"BODY HEAT" lighting

Joe Gideon

Hi there,

I'm working on a film where I'm trying to mimic a lighting effect from Lawrence Kasdan's 1981 film BODY HEAT. I'm a novice cinematographer, so any suggestions would be highly appreciated.

I'm trying to re-create the moment (towards the end of the film) where Kathleen Turner disappears into the dark. For those of you who are not familiar with the film, the scene is a night exterior and Kathleen Turner is seen facing the camera in a long shot; she is dimly lit by moonlight. After she finishes her dialogue, she turns 180 degrees, takes one step into the background, and completely disappears. It is a very evocative moment.

Can anyone suggest how to achieve to achieve this effect on a limited budget? Basically I need to know how to set up the lights so that the character goes from light to complete dark in the span of one step away from the camera.

Thanks,

J.

Hi there,

I'm working on a film where I'm trying to mimic a lighting effect from Lawrence Kasdan's 1981 film BODY HEAT. I'm a novice cinematographer, so any suggestions would be highly appreciated.

I'm trying to re-create the moment (towards the end of the film) where Kathleen Turner disappears into the dark. For those of you who are not familiar with the film, the scene is a night exterior and Kathleen Turner is seen facing the camera in a long shot; she is dimly lit by moonlight. After she finishes her dialogue, she turns 180 degrees, takes one step into the background, and completely disappears. It is a very evocative moment.

Can anyone suggest how to achieve to achieve this effect on a limited budget? Basically I need to know how to set up the lights so that the character goes from light to complete dark in the span of one step away from the camera.

Thanks,

J.