distinction between photography and cinematography

hye jung lee

Hello everyone,

I have recently signed up to this site and am thrilled to have found so much discussion and activity concerning our craft. I am a Korean student studying cinematography in Scotland and am writing an essay about the differences between cinematography and photography. I would be very interested to your views on this matter or if you know of any particular articles I should read. I look forward to hearing from you.. Thanks - Hye Jung Lee.

You _can_ make films without collaborators though.

(And you can make still photographs with them - a film crew, even: see Gregory Crewsdon)

A deeper question is, is it "motion motion motion" or "appearance of motion appearance of motion appearance of motion" ? :blink:

Anything longer than a short answer here will be very long !

-Sam

Sam Wells film/.../nj

You _can_ make films without collaborators though.

(And you can make still photographs with them - a film crew, even: see Gregory Crewsdon)

A deeper question is, is it "motion motion motion" or "appearance of motion appearance of motion appearance of motion" ? :blink:

Anything longer than a short answer here will be very long !

-Sam

Sam Wells film/.../nj

Well, i'd go for appearance of motion, but isn't all motion really appearance of motion in our endless universe? *cough*

Edited by Alex Wuijts

Well,

JLG, elsewhere known as Jean Luc Godard, once said that "Photography is truth" and then added that "Cinema is truth "24 times a second". Michael Haneke, on th other hand, said that "Cinema is 24 leis a second in an effort to represent the truth".

I don't know what is the difference really is, but it seems to have something to do with seconds and the number 24.

:)

George

Edited by George Lekovic