The life of a DP

Tyler Leisher

So I'm a student looking to get into Cinematography and I'm curious what the average day of a DP is, how many times you have to work more then 14 hours, what you're responsible for and what you do between jobs... how do you pay the bills, when do you find time to see your family? What are the weeks like, (6-day shoots, 5-day shoots, etc)?

• Replies 119
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Premium Member

Unfortunately for you, if you are writing a school paper, there is no such thing as a "typical" life of a DP. My life doesn't won't even resemble itself six months from now, let alone some other DP's. The only constant is change.

At the most you could compare two DP's lives both working on a TV series at the same time, which is the closest thing to a regular job a DP could have. Otherwise, since we are all freelance, it's a variety of things that we all go through for work -- or sometimes we don't work at all.

I think the question is too broad. Maybe if you narrowed the parameters: type of DP (commercial, TV, features, industrial/EPK, etc.), budget-level that they are working at, are they in a major production city or are they regional, etc.

It's not for a paper, just for my own personal mind. Right now I'm planning on going to film school but I don't know if it'll be a worthwhile degree, and I don't know if I want to go into cinematography or producing. My worry about either, but mainly DP because thats what I love to do, I'm worried that I won't ever get to see my family because of 14+ hour day shoots, or not being able to pay the rent because I don't have any work to do.

So I guess in response to your question, I'll say feature or commercial DP's.

Mainly what I'm worried about is, how is the pay, how are the hours and how do you manage your family?

• Premium Member