NYC for starting out?

Byron Karl

I graduated from a film program about 6 years ago, where I DP'd a number of projects and a thesis film and then moved out to NYC with the idea shooting some shorts, music videos, anything to bulk up my experience. Recently, it seems like most of the smaller film stuff out there has migrated to a video format, and whereas the area film programs used to be reliable for 16mm and even 35mm short projects looking for a DP, I see that less and less.

The problem is that, I feel with video comes a video mentality of "there's no need for lights or a tripod." And the bulk of the work that new DP can cut their teeth on, has entered an "everyman" category where most people in 5mins could figure out how to shoot it on DV.

I feel that when shooting with film on a low-budget, I've been able get by with existing/minimal light and not much in the way to finishing and have it still come across as stylized. However with low-budget video I feel it sort of all looks the same, without a controlled environment. Meaning, popping in some photofloods and a minimal kit of a few lights. I've done some things on 16mm and a few on S-8mm trimmed stocks, but recently it seems like everything that I am able to throw my name in the hat to shoot has gone the way of video. Which is somewhat infuriating, when you read people talk about how they started out shooting industrials, music videos, etc on 16mm.

So I've sort of hit a lull, in that I don't feel it's beneficial to my experience to be shooting any more projects that involve two-kinos and lowell kit. Meaning, I haven't really added anything I've shot in the last year to my reel. Maybe I'm an aesthetics snob, but I'm working for free/cheap on these things because I have an interest in creating visuals that match an idea that's been conceived, not just to get "coverage" of a performance.