Lighting a Believable Daylight Scene on a Soundstage

Hey, I am lighting a daylight scene on a soundstage this week, and to be honest I have never done that before so I am looking for all the advice I can get. Essentially I intend to burnout the windows (Which will have curtains over them) and the for light hitting actors faces directly from the sun, I hope to overexpose by 2 stops. Other than this, I hope to play with fill levels to get the contrast ratio I want. Stylistically, my insperation is Munich. Anyone care to offer some advice? anything at all would be helpful.

Cheers,

Steve

• Premium Member

Just try and think about where the natural light would be coming from in terms of the mix of skylight and sunlight coming through a window, and how it might bounce around and fill in the shadows. Do you have some large units for creating sunlight?

Avoid working with a set with no ceiling because all your ambience just drifts off into space -- even if the ceiling is off-camera, put a large white frame of something over the set to keep the natural bounce effect. This will also help you to resist the temptation to rig lights in the ceiling where there wouldn't be light in real life. Avoid adding accent lights that aren't motivated naturally, like adding a backlight from a direction opposite where the windows are.

Don't be afraid to keep it simple and minimal.

• Upvote 1

I have either a 5k tungsten, or a 2.5k HMI par.

Yeah, making sure what we see through those curtains/windows is white and blown out will sell the daytime look. If light is beaming into a room from the side like you say, perhaps some mild CTO would warm it up to make it look more early morning/late afternoon.

Contrast ratio is key too, of course, but as David said, it can be achieved and look more natural with just some bounced light.

i think same time natural light look so unreal when you look at it and try to crate it .