Ultra-16mm -- Viable for Digital Intermediates?

Vivian Zetetick

ultra16piconly.jpg

It seems that one camera sales/conversion shop ( http://www.cameraspro.com/super16.html ) and one film-to-tape lab ( http://www.tfgtransfer.com/ ) are officially supporting the Ultra-16 format as a viable alternative to super-16, mostly for the creation of digital intermediates. These two companies may or may not be in bed together.

http://www.cameraspro.com/ultra16cameraspro.html

As an ultra-low-budget 16mm filmmaker who owns a standard-16mm camera, I've researched conversion to super-16, and it seems expensive and perilous. My own camera, the Bolex EBM, can be converted to super-16. Unfortunately, the 10mm Kern-Switar wide angle lens does not cover the super-16 frame, and the POE 16-100 zoom cannot be used below 25mm without vignetting. In my case, this makes super-16 conversion a rather lame prospect if I want to use my own gear. I am not a professional. I do not make Hollywood-style movies. But the idea of shooting widescreen 16mm and finishing digitally is attractive.

However, I have read (online, mind you) that most standard-16 lenses, like the Switar 10mm and POE 16-100, will cover the ultra-16 frame without vignetting, and that the ultra-16mm image rivals that of the super-16 as a digital intermediate.

Though there was one illuminating discussion last year regarding the use of ultra-16 on a super-16 feature production, I'm wondering, has anyone else followed an ultra-16 production through the paces toward a digital master? -- or, better yet, a film-out from a digital master? What were some of the issues involved?

• Replies 91
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If you search the archives, there's a bit of discussion about this (do the archives still work to get to the old posts?)