Directing and writing short films

Hi,

I'm a student filmmaker and next year has to be the one where I make my mini masterpiece.

Although I'm pretty good at writing scripts and coming up with good stories i'm having troubles doing this for short films. You can read as many books about screenwriting as you want, they all apply to feature films. To those who are experienced, how do scripts for feature films differ from short films. A one act structure? Are short films more gimmicky? Shorter scenes? A plot twist at the ending?

The main differences between a short narrative structure versus a long one is the difference in character development and plot complexity. A short film gives you much less time to develop characters which is why most short films normaly have either very one dimensional characters or very cliched characters. Fitting into this stereotype would made life easier to you but that's not to say that every short film have these types of characters, you just need to be extra creative. The second difference is that people have much less patience when watching a short film so every scene needs to be entertaining, contribute to the plot and has to have constant devices to keep the atention. A twist at the end is not necessary but alot of short films have them because they tend to keep the audiences attention. Basically, it boils down to having the audience involved in the story enough so that they have to know what happens at the end and don't mind sitting through the middle.