Haskell Wexler on HD

Lindsay Mann

• Premium Member

I was fortunate enough to work with Haskell Wexler, ASC recently on a shoot in Maine. It is a feature based on Kaiulani Lee's one-woman play about the environmentalist Rachel Carson, it is called "Sense of Wonder."

In fact, they rented my Panasonic HVX from me and I worked as a sort of AC/DIT. It was the first time Haskell had worked with the camera, though he had been shooting video fairly recently for documentary work. There was a bit of a learning curve with the HVX. He was quite fond of saying that my camera was, "for the birds." He's pretty old school and is spoiled by film's latitude, so he and the gaffer weren't too thrilled about shooting bright daytime exteriors. He shot pretty low light inside, which I was worried about because the HVX is pretty terrible in low light, but the lens actually looks best when it's open wide and Haskell was able to get, by far, the prettiest images my camera has ever shot.

Naturally, before I went up there I read my Masters of Light, my Reflections book, watched my ASC dvd's, and also watched a bunch of his movies. I saw "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolfe?" "In the Heat of the Night," "Bound for Glory," "Medium Cool," and "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest." Oh and I watched about 10 minutes of *61, which I had to turn off because the screenplay was so bad. Looked good though.

Most were brilliant screenplays and very well directed. I feel like I need to watch Medium Cool again to wrap my head around it. And I can appreciate it's originality, merging documentary with narrative. I guess my question is what makes this man one of the most celebrated DP's in the ASC?