HDX900 w/ pro35 or HPX3000?

Lindsay Mann

• Premium Member

Shooting an R&B music video, one female, lots of performance stuff, and a male dancer (I think).

Kind of interested in the idea of shooting on the HDX900 with a pro35 adapter, but I've never used it before. I could probably get the HPX3000 for a better rate (if it's even available) but I'd only want to shoot using AVC Intra, and I'm sure that would cause the editor some problems. I guess that makes the choice fairly clear, but has anyone shot with both of these cameras and can compare depth of field and color. I'd be using the pro35 with zeiss ultraprimes I believe.

What kind of picture can I expect with this pro35 setup? Is it something comparable to s16? Kind of a broad question, I guess. Just looking for suggestions or alternatives.

Can anyone compare it to an F900?

Thanks.

• Premium Member

The HDX900 is a great camera, and the HPX300 is an awesome camera. The 3000's 1080 chips will deliver a more detailed image than the 900's 720 chips, and the AVC-intra codec should give more robust results for color correction than DVCPRO HD.

Both cameras use 2/3" chips, so the depth of field characteristics are the same with the same lens setup. Both cameras have highly user-definable color matrices, so color can be pretty much whatever you want it to be with either camera. The 3000's 1080 chips deliver an image that can look a heck of a lot like 35mm (viewed on HD/SD), and compares pretty well with the Sony F900. The HDX900 is essentially a Varicam under the hood, and its 720 resolution always looks a little Super 16-ish to me. Not that that's bad.