Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Ashley Barron

Commercial Cinematographers

Recommended Posts

Hey everyone,

The Topic Title is pretty explanatory. Who do you consider to be the best commercial Cinematographer and what commercial specifically do you have in mind that stands to you?

Thanks in advance,

Ashley.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As Christopher says, Daniel Pearl, ASC is one of the best. I've included a link to his website, his resume is incredible. I would recommend watching his general reel (especially the first Gatorade spot) and his beauty reel (my favorite being the Shania Twain "Feel Like A Woman" video).

http://danielpearldp.com/

 

Though not as legendary as Pearl, Claudio Miranda is quite accomplished and does fantastic work. I would recommend the Heinecken "Beer Run" spot he did with Fincher, and the "Grey Goose Oyster" spot.

http://www.claudiomiranda.com

 

Also I love Paul Cameron, ASC. There was a previous version of his reel that had some old spots I thought were great, there was this Bacardi ad with tons of sweet overexposure... anyways, this what he's currently got online, there's a "Harley Earl" Buick spot towards the end of his commercial reel that's great.

http://dda.wiredrive.com/l/p/?presentation...8b12b08aae333aa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are some great commercial DP's, many unknown to the long form community.

 

Here's just a few:

 

Jess Hall http://www.jesshalldop.com/

Crille Forsberg http://www.crilleforsberg.com/index.htm

Omer Ganai http://www.omerganai.com/

Stoeps Langensteiner http://www.stoeps.com/stoeps/index.htm

Carl Nilsson http://www.carlnilsson.com/

Jonathan Sela

Mattias Montero http://www.mattiasmontero.com/commercials/

Jo Molitoris http://www.jomolitoris.com/

Paul Laufer

David Ungaro http://www.david-ungaro.com/V2/Default.aspx

Brad Rushing http://www.bradrushing.com/

Ross Richardson http://www.rossrichardson.com/

Simon Chaudoir http://www.simonchaudoir.com/

Karsten "Crash" Gopinath http://www.crashdp.com/index2.html

Patrick Duroux http://www.jacobandkole.com/artists/41_patrick/index.html

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

... thanks for the links Adam... interesting to see more of Jess Hall's work as I liked the way Hot Fuzz was shot...

 

Claudio Miranda's site is worth a look at too!..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Geoff Boyle is pretty slick - but then anyone who shot Robert Palmer's "Simply Irresistible" music video then got to shoot a reprise as a Pepsi commercial is high on my envy list.

 

Pepsi Commerical

post-10210-1210030942.jpg

post-10210-1210031062.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did a commercial w/ Crille Forsberg, and I was really impressed by the feel of his framing, totally natural - like the camera just fell where it did, but totally slick and commercial at the same time.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Let me rephrase..any good Table-Top DPs that anyone can think of??

 

David Deahl... www.bigdeahl.com the guy works non-stop.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  


  • Broadcast Solutions Inc



    Abel Cine



    CineLab



    The Original Slider



    G-Force Grips



    Rig Wheels Passport



    Serious Gear



    Visual Products



    Wooden Camera



    New Pro Video - New and Used Equipment



    Tai Audio



    Paralinx LLC



    FJS International



    Gamma Ray Digital Inc



    Media Blackout - Custom Cables and AKS



    Metropolis Post



    Ritter Battery



    Glidecam



    Just Cinema Gear


    Cinematography Books and Gear
×
×
  • Create New...