SDX900 to Film Feature

Jake Kerber

I plan to use the SDX900 on a feature--destined for a tape to film transfer--early next year and would appreciate information regarding the following: **Note: I will be doing some limited testing before the shoot, but would like to eliminate some of the variables beforehand.

? Lenses - I plan on using low detail settings to take some of the video ege off, but to avoid an image that just looks soft I'd like to use the best/sharpest glass I can. I'm drawn to Cine-style lenses for numerous reasons--DoF characteristics, sharpness, contrast, less breathing, etc.--but truth be told, I have no firsthand experience with THIS camera and cine-style OR ENG lenses, so I may be just as happy with an HD ENG lens that negates lens changes and speeds up set-up time a bit. Actually, are there cine-style zooms that work with the SDX? We will be doing in-shot zooms. How about the Pro35 with a set of 35mm lenses? Or PL to B4 adaptors? These are combinations I'm playing with and would appreciate feedback on.

? Screenings/Examples - Does anyone know of any places to view examples or tests that were executed with the SDX900 and transferred to film?

Thanks,

Jake

• Premium Member

Hi,

> I'm drawn to Cine-style lenses for numerous reasons--DoF characteristics

Cine-style lenses, such as Zeiss digiprimes, may be better optically than an ENG zoom but will not have markedly different depth of field characteristics.

> How about the Pro35

Now that will get you different depth of field characteristics.

Phil

• Premium Member

Cine-style lenses, both zooms and primes, will have a longer barrel rotation, allowing focus marks to be spaced more conveniently. You'll note on an ENG lens that all the marks are rather close and hard to differentiate.