Directing Solitary Actors

Hey everybody. I'm new to these amazing boards, and I'm really anxious to get some more dialogue going in the "directors corner".

In my upcoming feature, I have a few crucial scenes involving actors by themselves. Does anybody have any tips for giving the actor solid direction, even though he doesn't have somebody to play off? Action Verbs are more difficult to use because the action is all internalized.

A specific example from the script: A man in his late twenties knows that he is responsible for the shooting of two people. He speeds away from the scene, happy about what he did, but he slowly begins to regret it, and ends up in tears. In the next scene, we find out that he made the right choice, turned around, and went back to help the kids he hurt.

Obviously, I'm trying to avoid saying things like "start happy, then be sad".

Any ideas on directing this transition?

Hi

In the sequence that you described I would be more concerned with how I framed and lit the shot. I would use simple action words such as "Pensive" but I would add a decisive direction in which the character would look for it to create the particular feel that I would want to create.

Before I'd do any of this I'd make sure that the actor understood the scene fully and I would show them how I would frame it in a proper storyboard. If that didn't work I would get film examples with a similar feel.

• Premium Member
Does anybody have any tips for giving the actor solid direction, even though he doesn't have somebody to play off? Action Verbs are more difficult to use because the action is all internalized.