Building my own tracks

Ira Ratner

I'm just a hobbyist, but it has been driving me nuts looking at the prices they're asking for simple straight and curved dolly tracks. I'm going to need a basic 360-degree circle to start, 8-feet diameter, but damn if I can afford hundreds and hundreds of dollars for this just to use in my backyard with a K-3.

And even REAL filmmakers like you guys--students and independents and budget conscious--don't want t0 spend more on this kind of stuff than necessary anyway.

I work a a graphic artist in the engineering department for the Florida Department of Transportation (Florida's Turnpike SunPass/toll collection division), and I spoke to an engineer about the objective. Of course, I got advice that was way over-engineered for what I needed--and a pain in the ass to use. But I gleaned some ideas that I'm going to use for my plan, and that maybe would work for you too.

EMT stands for electrical maleable tubing--REAL inexpensive and light pipe that you can buy anywhere and that bends real easily. (They run wires through it and it comes in various diameters.)

So...

I'm going to get a pipe bender, do the math, and bend pieces to give me that 8' diameter circle. The circle will ultimate consist of multiple pieces about 2-feet long, filled with sand (for weight and stability)--and about 1/2" in from each end of each piece, on the inside, will be epoxied/capped/whatever, to hold the sand in.

And the pieces will connect to each other with simple dowels.

Am I brilliant or what?

Edited by Ira Ratner

Do the math. What's your time worth per hour? What's the cost of the tools and parts?