I was given a free ACL

Paco Sweetman

I was given a free ACL by an old Irish cameraman on the weekend. I would love to get it up and running and even if it's possible get it converted to a Super 16. It seems like it could be in a state of disrepair though. I'm not sure whether or not it's worth the work.

It has got:

the ACL body (not sure if it's 1, 1.5, or 2)

5 x 400ft magazines

3 x Lenses (that look quite manky, 1x Angeniex, 1xZeiss and 9.5 Prime)

It is missing a battery, and i'm not sure if the there is rust on the right side of the body of the machine. I'll include pictures so anyone can have a look and maybe i could start a running dialogue on what to do.

I'm thinking of selling 2 or 3 of the magazines to make up some of the money to fix the camera and lenses (if it's possible). Let us know what you guys think.

P.S. I am new to this and learning slowly, so please be gentle if I've said something ridiculously stupid.

post-34072-1218152524.jpg

post-34072-1218152543.jpg

post-34072-1218152556.jpg

post-34072-1218152564.jpg

post-34072-1218152575.jpg

post-34072-1218152594.jpg

It is a 2 body with an orientable viewfinder and a heavy duty motor. I could say it is a score but there is so much rust on the thing I am thinking it is a parts camera, maybe.

You are going to have to spend some money to get that kitten purring again, and from the looks of it, I wouldn't be surprised if it was a needing a trip to the camera graveyard. :(

Seriously, what in the hell did they do to this camera???

HFS! The lens!! Did they store this kit underwater?

Edited by Saul Rodgar

It is a good think you don't have a battery, as trying to run this camera with so much rust on it would only make it worse (if possible). The camera needs to be taken to a pro tech, if only to be pronounced dead.

Sorry mate, I really don't want to be mean. Those pictures make it hard to give this camera much hope, though.