About Kino Flo bulbs

Mo Kamal

I'm in the process of building a D.I.Y fluorescent kit, actually I have the ballasts, reflectors, and everything i need except for the bulbs.

Since I have no experience with all this stuff, I've been reading around and was about to order some Kino flo 55w bulbs, but I came across some posts where people mentioned that Kino bulbs would not work well with non Kino ballasts.

Anyone have any experience using Kino tubes with D.I.Y fixtures or using any non Kino Flo ballasts?

Any input would be really appreciated.

Thanks.

Quite a few people have done DIY fixtures using non-Kino ballasts but with Kino bulbs. It works fine. Check over on DVXUser in the DIY forum. Someone built one recently and you can see it there clearly functioning with Fulham ballasts and Kino bulbs.

In general the 55w bulb is a pretty solid standard and as far as I've seen all the major ballast manufacturers: Advance, Fulham, Universal, etc. all stick to that standard as do the many manufacturers that make 55w bulbs.

I have heard (though I have no evidence to support it) that most likely if a kino bulb is not doing well in an archetexual fixture, its likely that the ballast is old. Green and flicker might be a result of an older ballast not supplying the propper voltage/frequency to drive the floros. I think in those cases it maybe likely that normal tubes would present with the same issues.

I would be interested to hear if this is true or not, and if anyone has any evidence of it.

• Premium Member

Flourescent flicker comes in two flavors. First there's the gross, see it with your eyes kind of flicker. That comes from a tube or balast that's crapping out, and happens because the arc current varies wildly, or even drops out and re-strikes. However it looks to your eyes, it'll look at least that bad on film or tape.