Rock star directors

Robert Sawin

I have been studying filmmaking and the visual arts for about seven or eight years now. As a student I find it extraordinarily frustrating that I have to compete to direct. I was never drawn to the fame money or potential lifestyle a director may seemingly have. I enjoy the passion of creating the vision and knowing that the success of an entire film rest on the shoulders of a director. I love the passion it takes to create a motion picture. Although I have completed about three short narrative films, all too often I find myself producing, casting, scouting locations, set designing, buying props, catering, etc. on my last film after death all I wanted to do was just direct. My teacher knew that I was passionate and a very creative individual and that I understood the technical craft I was taught. Again, like in all my film classes I found myself quite literally stuck to do all post work by myself. At times I feel like the only way to direct is to direct myself. I'm not sure if this is the norm but it takes a toll on my health both mentally and physically. I feel like everyone in the world who has ever entered a film production class wants to be a director. Often I find myself wanting to quit and just go into some other area using my expertise in visual medium. The only thing I have ever wanted to do while attending college is just to direct. However everywhere I go I always feel like everybody tells me that to direct is just an impossible dream. I have never won an award because I've never submitted for one. I really am not a person who likes fame and attention. And one last thing that bothers me is when it comes time for production I am never short of a crew and my talent is always there to do their job. Which is fine but the journey to get that point makes me feel like I don't care. I really hate that feeling especially when I get to the set.