About working in NYC

Hello all,

I am a young(read strong and abuse-able) electric currently living and working in Austin, TX. I have 4 years of experience lighting for printing photography as well as about 2.5 lighting on smaller projects and whatnot. Anyhow, y'all know how it works. My question is this:

What's it like working in NYC. Is paid work around? All I really see anywhere is free/deferred. Which is fine if you're into that but I like paying rent and whatnot. Also, how necessary is a car for working in/around the city? How likely is it that a person would be able to find non-union work during the 18-months before you can join IA-L52?

Really, I am just trying to get some first hand anecdotal information so anything helps. Hope y'all are keeping warm up there, take care.

_brandon barron

www.brandonbarron.com

Well, I'm a camera geek so things are different for me. Local 600 is like the Community Athletics of unions: everybody plays. I could elaborate on that sentence in a few creative ways, but I put myself on sarcasm probation. :-D

...I digress. 52 is a lot more...old skool? Hardball. Like you take the test, then they decide if they like you, and if they don't, you're S.O.L. Bonus points if you have family in the industry. No, seriously.

Right now, it is cold and slow. Every winter here, is cold and slow. Then, things "are supposed to pick up" by March, but they don't, usually, until about May, at which point you can bust out the Bermudas and stop hibernating, until approximately Thanksgiving; after that, everything comes to a screeching halt again.

I would not say that a car is hugely necessary, but if you own a lot of gear or live further out in any of the outer boroughs, it might be helpful. Good luck with parking though! :-P

The non-union work is generally low-pay or no-pay, like you said. It is possible to scrape by, but sometimes you have to really do your time on the little gigs in order to make it add up.