What causes video noise?

DS Williams

Hello all,

First thread for me on this board, so far very impressed with the professionalism here, and very happy with my decision to register.

Anyways, I am fairly new to digital cinematography, being only 19 and still in film school. But I try to soak up everything I can from these baords.

I have a question about video noise. I always hear about it, unfortunately I'm always seeing it (I own an HPX170 and HVX200)

What exactly causes video noise, and what is meant when people say a camera has a low "noise floor"?

This has all been a part of my quest to figure out why the hell my HVX200 is so noisy.

Any comments/help would be much appreciated.

• Premium Member