how do you articulate the visual voice of a feature film?

Hi good people. I'm a writer/director. I would really appreciate any feedback on the following question: "how do you articulate the visual voice of a feature film with your directors or by yourself?"

The problem I've been struggling with for the last couple of months is articulating for myself the visual design for a feature I will be directing in the fall. The last feature I directed I wound up playing the lead character (I'm a trained actor) so the film was more recorded then "properly mounted" as G. Willis would say.

Now the best formulation from a director that I've heard talk about this subject has been Sidney Lumet in his book. He finds his premise and from that he extrapolates the whole design of the film - his lens plot, lighting plot, shot structure, set design, costume, music, etc.

The problem I'm having folks is that I've not been able to extract a premise and I wrote the script. Now I also feel sometimes Mr. Lumet's films can be a little too schematic precisely because of this reliance on premise. For myself I really have more questions than answers in this new film. So I'm not really pushing any premises, themes, per se. I guess what I'm asking - is what other tactics have DP's used with their directors or by themselves to nail down the look of the film besides being guided by a premise? Or if you have found this to be the best way (a premise) then I would love to hear from you also.

Thank you.

Edited by kevin baggott

Since you're an actor perhaps you should work from your characters' needs and how their world reflects or conflicts with those needs. Sometimes you really need to ask yourself very basic questions rather than worry about all complexities. Once you know this, you can begin to expand on your vision of the story and explain it to the DP, Art director, Costume people.