Recommend me my next camera!

Aaron Freeder

Hey cinematographers,

I've been looking for the past few months to buy myself a new camera, so I can make more professional and higher quality work for my progression in the realm of filmmaking.

I've been shooting in HD on my current Canon HV20 since the summer of 2008 when I bought it. I've got tons of accessories, a DOF adapter and a few different rigs I've used for various films.

However, I'm really looking for the "next" step in HD.

I know lately these DSLR cameras that shoot video, (5D Mark II, D90, 7D) are exploding in popularity all over the net, but I feel like I might want to hold back on buying any of these models, mainly because as people themselves have described in this forum, they aren't true video cameras

I have around a $3000 budget for my new gear, and I'm really looking to get something semi-professional for the next few years.

I know this is broad, but any suggestions can really help me expand my research.

Thanks ahead of time, and happy 2010!

Edited by Aaron Freeder

I know lately these DSLR cameras that shoot video, (5D Mark II, D90, 7D) are exploding in popularity all over the net, but I feel like I might want to hold back on buying any of these models, mainly because as people themselves have described in this forum, they aren't true video cameras