Anyone buy Krasnogorsk K-3 from NCS?

Zack Jones

I'm debating on getting one of these from NCS Products. Have any of you guys purchased from them? Are they a good place to get a Super 16 K-3? I know it's more expensive, but I don't usually like ebay and I wouldn't want to do the S16 modification myself.

I might talk with the guys at Du-All and see if they have any in stock too.

Another question. My grandpa gave me his Pentax SPIIa and a bunch of lenses a while ago. Unfortunatly, the widest is a 35mm. Would these be much better quality then the included lens? I know they'd have a narrower angle of view. What if I slapped one of these on in the future? Do SLR lenses work okay? Even though they weren't designed for movie cameras?

I'm new to all of this. I'd only use the camera for small mos projects and home movies. I've looked at super 8, but I like the resolution of S16. And despite the cost of film and telecine, I want to get into 16mm.

Thanks for any help.

The K3 is such a simple and rugged camera you should just bite the bullet and get it from one of those Russian sellers provided they have decent feedback. At the very least, you'll need to remove the loop formers and you can find videos for that from the NCS guys on youtube. Personally I've never done it but it looks fairly simple (or just flat out snap them out with needle nose pliers as was suggested to me once upon a time.)

Re: SLR lenses. 35mm Wide Angle lens isn't going to cut it. It's been covered here before, but you're only real choices for a wide angle are going to be an 8mm Peleng and a 17mm Zentar. Both are prone to flare so you'll need to rig up a french flag to take care of that and/or jerry rig up some sort of way to put on a lens shade ( I gaffered tape a 67mm to 72mm step ring to my lenses).