mitchell camera

branan edgens

Here's my situation: shooting a no-budget 35mm short. One shot, camera never moves. Shot is 3 min. long. Lens is 18mm. Two speaking actors, both are 20 feet away and somewhat small in the frame. I have access to a FREE 35mm Mitchell (I'm assuming non-synch) or even a FREE ArriBL4

Question: How loud are these things? Also, would anyone risk audio recording a few dozen rehearsals and then using that sound (after a lot of editing and massaging)? Of course, we'd also record the camera takes but the sound might be unusable due to camera noise, and not stay in synch anyway. I have a lot of sound editing experience and think I can put the sound back together but... what a headache!

So, would YOU risk it?

Also: we'd be shooting another part of the movie on a newer camera, maybe Panavision. Am I wrong thinking that Mitchell cameras were famous for rock-steady images?

The BL4 is a very quiet camera, and it will run at 24 or 25 fps sync speed. You should not have problems recording sound, even if you do it "wild" using a DAT or harddisk recording device.

A Mitchell BNC in its huge blimp housing will be definitely quiet. Different motors can be fitted to it, and a AC model should solve any sync issues.

But there also are Mitchell cameras without that blimp (S35R, NC), and they will not run silent. If you can get a Mitchell BNC (=Blimped Noiseless Camera) everything is fine, and it's a great camera for static shots (if you ever had to carry a BNC... ;) ).

Edited by Christian Appelt

Go for the BL4 if you can get your hands on it. The Mitchell if it's in good shape will work out I'm sure, you'll have to settle for older lenses. It all depends on whether its blimped and sync or not, of course.