Shooting live music footage with the HVX200-- bass distortion on recording

Benjamin Cameron

Please don't rip me apart, I am far from a newbie to the camera. I don't know a whole lot about audio recording, is all. My situation:

I shoot live music footage for YouTube, music videos, and general documentation. Recently, I have been shooting many doom/ death metal bands, and the heavy bass distorts on the recording. I use the built-in mic on the camera, not an external mic. I have set the "mic ATT" option to "on", which supposedly addresses the issue, to little avail. While shooting, i ride the audio levels to maintain even input with no peaking. I can't get rid of this problem, and am not sure I can fix it in FCP. Below is a link to my YouTube channel as demonstration. The latest videos are a good example of the problem, the live footage of Anhedonist and Ealdath.

http://www.youtube.com/user/bennybro...ature=mhee#p/u

Any advice would be helpful. I don't need or expect "perfect" sound on this type of video work, but would like to not have this bass distortion in general. I'd also prefer to continue using the on-board mic, if possible.

My Only advice would be to use two cameras. I recently shot a documentary about rock bands in Shanghai and when we shot live performances we would have one camera plugged into the mixer. This is usually near the back . This way you get clean audio. so that camera would get wide shots of the band. Then we had another camera grabbing b-roll of the band playing.

Before shooting we would use a slate or clap to sync the two cameras later in post.

By doing this you don't sacrifice audio quality, because most of the time, the onboard mic sucks.